Article Index

College Distinguished Faculty Award

It is with great pleasure the department congratulates Morty Khakoo as this year's recipient of the College of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Distinguished Faculty Award.

reception-mortyThe announcement from the Dean on April 15 read in part, "The award is in recognition of your outstanding scholarship, teaching, and the profound and significant ways in which you support students at Cal State Fullerton. Your leadership, dedication and commitment to your students and your profession are obvious to all. Clearly, you are richly deserving of this award. On behalf of the faculty, please let me congratulate and thank you for your contributions and service to your department and the College."Morty having fun at Welcome to Fullerton DayMorty having fun at Welcome to Fullerton Day

The physics faculty greatly appreciates Morty's long-time efforts in the department and the fine examples of excellence in research andmeaningful student involvement in his research he has set for us all.

The award carries with it $3,000 to be spent in ways that enhance teaching, research, or service. Morty will be recognized at the CNSM Awards Reception in May and presented with a certificate and a plaque inscribed with his name to be displayed in the NSM display case.





Department Special Appreciation Award

The department would like to recognize CSUF lecturer and former physics masters student Colin Campbell for his exceptional service to the department over the course of the past year to reorganize and renovate the department's extensive collection of lecture demonstrations.

Colin and Prof Greg ChildersColin and Prof Greg Childers

Our collection was started over 50 years ago by Professor Ray Adams, the department's founding father, and has continued to grow through the years with the efforts of our faculty, technical staff, and the contributions of past Eiker-Adams Awardees. Colin mentored this year's Eiker-Adams recipient Cris Navarro, and together they have replaced or refurbished almost all of our equipment while adding numerous new demonstrations and have developed an extensive catalog system and web-based wiki to make the collection more transparent and available to the entire department.

Faculty Achievement Award

Emeritus Professor Jim Woodward, a long-time friend of the department, established the Faculty Achievement Award with a generous donation. This year, the award goes to Morty Khakoo. Morty's application focused on three papers from his electron scattering lab, prepared in part during his Fall 2010 sabbatical. Two have appeared in the prestigious journal Physical Review A and the third has been accepted by that journal and will appear very soon. The three papers between them include five student co-authors, among them two of our 2011 department awards recipients Brent Yates and Kevin Ralphs.

Morty and Prof Jim WoodwardMorty and Prof Jim Woodward

We greatly appreciate the assistance extended by Professor Matt Kirby, Geology, in selecting this year's Faculty Achievement recipient.