Article Index


Black Family Fellowship Award

The Black Family Fellowship Award is an annual award that supports student involvement in research in the Physics Department. Recipients receive $5,000 in salary to work on a research project, supervised by a Physics Faculty Member. Recipients also receive up to $1,000 in research budget in support of research related activities, which can include procurement of materials and supplies for the project, computing purchases or travel to present data from the project. This award is funded through the generous ongoing commitment of Dan Black.

Students enrolled in the Phys-Bus Emphasis may apply to work on a physics-related business project, supervised by a faculty member in the School of Business.

Applications for the 2022-2023 academic year are now open! Deadline is March 4, 2022.

Approximately 10 awards are available each year, depending on fund availability. Recipients will be notified during March and may access their award from July 1st 2022 through June 30th 2023 (Note: If possible, the department encourages recipients to completely use their award prior to the end of the academic year, May 14 2023).  

Candidates are encouraged to discuss their project with their supervising Physics (or Business) faculty member. To be considered complete, the application must include:

  • The applicant's name, CWID, email address and expected graduation semester
  • The name of the faculty member who will act as advisor for the project
  • A 600-word research proposal that describes the project
  • An itemized budget describing how the research budget portion of the award will be spent (not included in the 600 word limit)

Applications should be submitted by email to Dr. Jocelyn Read (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.), with the subject line "Black Family Fellowship Application". Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Selection Criteria

Proposals will be evaluated by a committee  of three Physics Faculty. Each committee member will score the proposal based on the following categories:

  • Background: Candidates should describe the broader research area and identify current issues in that area (5 points)
  • Research question: Candidates should identify a specific research issue that they will work on, and explain how it impacts the broader research area (5 points)
  • Methodolgy: Candidates should describe specifically what the propose to do to address the research questions (5 points)
  • Justification of the budget: Candidates should describe what htey will use their research budget for and why those costs are important for the proposal (5 points)

Awards will be ranked according to their total score and awards will be made up to the limit of fund availability.

A detailed description of all rules and requirements of the award is available at the Physics Department Office.